Yuri Zhislin directs Glazunov and Tchaikovsky

Friday 29 Jan 2021

Following their concert in tribute to the Oxford Vaccine Teams, which included the world premiere of John Rutter’s Joseph’s Carol, the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra is kicking off 2021 with an online series of four concerts, streamed free to its audiences worldwide.

Co-Concertmaster and violist Yuri Zhislin directs the Orchestra in the world premiere of Suite for Strings by Libby Croad. Zhislin also performs his own viola transcription of Glazunov’s Saxophone Concerto, and the programme closes with Tchaikovsky’s Serenade for Strings.

Libby Croad Suite for Strings (WORLD PREMIERE)
Glazunov Alto Saxophone Concerto in E flat major, Op. 109 (arr. Zhislin for viola)
Tchaikovsky Serenade for Strings in C major, Op. 48

Yuri Zhislin viola / director

The concerts were filmed by Apple & Biscuit Recordings at London’s Hellenic Centre in October, and the series was made possible by a lifeline grant from the Government’s Culture Recovery Fund.

Organised by the Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra.




Streamed online on here from 7.30pm



More information / booking