Lunchtime concert of piano 4-hands music with ”Duo Dithyrambico”

Monday 11 Mar 2019

A lunchtime piano concert with Angelina Pavlou & Christos Fountos

A Lunchtime concert of piano 4-hands music by ”Duo Dithyrambico”. The programme includes Stravinsky’s groundbreaking ballet score “The Rite of Spring” alongside other orchestral works arranged for two pianists playing on one piano – creating the essence of an orchestra with a single instrument. Come with us in an exploration of sounds and let the history behind the music unfold: Scandals, riots, censorship and denunciation. Each one of these marked the music of the 20th century but finally led into changing notions, breaking the boundaries, establishing a new era and making the pieces and their composers the most influential of the past century. This concert will bring together the avant-gardism and modernism of Stravinsky and Shostakovich, Prokofiev’s neoclassical youth and the Jazz virtuosity of Kapustin. It will also include recent new transcriptions for 4-hands by Christos Fountos, made especially for “Duo Dithyrambico”.


The Hellenic Centre


Free entry; booking essential.


1 pm

More information / booking